Steve Reich on Betty Freeman

Betty Freeman was the recipient of an AMC Founder’s Award although she could not attend the receptionPhoto montage by David Hockney courtesy Betty Freeman As many of you may know, Betty Freeman was unable to come to New York to receive this award but she promises to be in town this September when her show […]

Remembering Lou

John Luther Adams, Bill Colvig, and Lou HarrisonPhoto by Dennis Keeley The great redwood has fallen. Light streams into the forest. The sound will reverberate for generations to come. The passing of Lou Harrison marks the end of an era in American music that began with Charles Ives and continued on through Henry Cowell, Ruth […]

Everywhere At Once: John Luther Adams On Kyle Gann

At the AMC awards ceremony, Mikel Rouse presented Kyle Gann with a Letter of DistinctionPhoto by R.J Capak Kyle Gann is a force of nature. Composer, performer, author, critic, scholar, educator… Like the weather, he seems to be everywhere at once—a commanding presence in the landscape of American music. First and foremost, Gann is a […]

David Starobin on George Crumb

David Starobin presents George Crumb with an AMC Letter of DistinctionPhoto by R.J. Capak I first got to know George Crumb personally when, as a 19 year-old fan of his music, a friend of mine and I showed up at George and Liz Crumb’s doorstep completely unannounced. George was our hero—the leading composer/poet of our […]

New Music Shines at AMC Event

Over 250 composers and friends of contemporary American music came together at the New 42nd Street Studios in New York City for the 64th annual American Music Center meeting and the 39th annual AMC awards ceremony.

The New Music Flame Burns Brightly in Philadelphia

The 2003 Philadelphia Music Project awards distributed $780,000 to 16 non-profit arts organizations, resulting in 15 commissions and performances of works by composers such as Jane Ira Bloom, Uri Caine, Andrea Clearfield, Richard Danielpour, Tiyé Giraud, Kamran Ince, Gerald Levinson, Nicholas Maw, Ikue Mori, James Primosch, Ned Rorem, and Maurice Wright.