Author Archives: NewMusicBox Staff

10 Composers Among the 181 Guggenheim Fellows for 2012

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced its 2012 fellows in the United States and Canada. A total of 181 Fellowships have been awarded to scholars, artists, and scientists—among them ten composers—chosen from a group of almost 3,000 applicants.

MAP Fund Awards Over $1.2M to Support 41 Live Performance Projects

The MAP Fund will underwrite 41 new projects in the disciplines of dance, theater and music, all works that in some way explore the boundaries of contemporary performance practices. A panel of peers selected the grantees from more than 800 submissions and the projects will be supported with grants ranging from $10,000 to $45,000. Projects funded include new works by Corey Dargel, Pamela Z, and Yoav Gal.

Eighteen Composers Receive AAAL Awards Totaling $190,000

The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced the eighteen recipients of this year’s awards in music, which total $190,000. The winners were selected by a committee of academy members: Ezra Laderman (chairman), David Del Tredici, John Harbison, Fred Lerdahl, Tania Leon, Bernard Rands, Gunther Schuller, and Steven Stucky.

Mellon Funds 3-Year, $450K eighth blackbird Residency at Curtis

The residency is “designed to prepare students to enter today’s challenging classical music world” and “will support the school’s aim to shape artistic leaders who find creative new ways to engage audiences while maintaining the highest artistic standards.” The sextet will visit for four weeks each year beginning in October 2012.

Pauline Oliveros Winner of $50,000 John Cage Award

Foundation for Contemporary Arts has named Pauline Oliveros the winner of the John Cage Award for 2012. The $50,000 prize is made biennially in recognition of outstanding achievement in the arts for work that reflects the spirit of John Cage.

Koussevitzky Foundations Announce Commission Winners

The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, Inc. have awarded commissions for new musical works to eight composers. Jointly granting the commissions are the foundations and the performing organizations that will present the newly composed works.