Author Archives: NewMusicBox Staff

Harbison Receives BSO’s Horblit Award

The Boston Symphony Orchestra has presented John Harbison with the Mark M. Horblit “Merit Award” for distinguished composition by an American composer. In connection with the presentation of the award, the orchestra will release the composer’s six symphonies as digital downloads, available on their website beginning July 9.

John Luther Adams: Consider the Value of Music

Each year we deliver hundreds of articles and thousands of listening hours right to your computer or mobile device free of charge. But today, using our best NPR voices, we do ask: What is continued access to this music and this community worth to you?

Cynthia Lee Wong Selected as Second New Voices Composer

Cynthia Lee Wong has been selected as the second composer to participate in New Voices, an annual collaborative project between Boosey & Hawkes, the New World Symphony, and the San Francisco Symphony which aims to develop the professional careers of emerging composers in the Americas.