NEA Announces the 2010 NEA Jazz Masters

NEA Announces the 2010 NEA Jazz Masters

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced the eight recipients of the 2010 NEA Jazz Masters Award. They will each receive a $25,000 grant award and be publicly honored in an awards ceremony and concert on January 12, 2010, at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, in New York City.

The eight 2010 NEA Jazz Masters are:

Muhal Richard Abrams
Pianist, Composer, Educator
New York, NY

Kenny Barron
Pianist, Composer, Educator
Brooklyn, NY

Bill Holman
Composer, Arranger, Saxophonist
Los Angeles, CA

Bobby Hutcherson
Vibraphonist, Marimba Player, Composer
Montara, CA

Yusef Lateef
Saxophonist, Flutist, Oboist, Composer, Educator
Amherst, MA

Annie Ross
New York, NY

Cedar Walton
Pianist, Composer
Brooklyn, NY

George Avakian, a jazz producer, manager, critic, and educator from Riverdale, New York, will receive the 2010 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy. (—Condensed from the press release)

You might also enjoy