Keep Your Ears on the Prize: A Hyperhistory of American Composition Awards

The newest fellowship of its kind, the Berlin Prize was first awarded in 1999 to Laura Schwendinger and is based on the example set by the American Academy in Rome. Located in a villa on Lake Wannsee, the American Academy in Berlin is a short train ride from the center of Berlin. The Berlin Prize is offered in many fields, and other residents include Hollywood Bowl conductor John Mauceri, visual artist Jenny Holzer, and poet Henri Cole. Next year there will be two Berlin Prize composers: Martin Bresnick and Betsy Jolas.