Chamber Music America Awards 12 Ensembles Through “New Jazz Works”

Chamber Music America Awards 12 Ensembles Through “New Jazz Works”

Chamber Music America (CMA) has awarded $253,000 in grants to 12 ensembles through New Jazz Works: Commissioning and Ensemble Development. Chosen from 161 applicants by an independent panel of jazz professionals, the grantees are as follows (available composition titles are listed):

  • Rez Abbasi Group, Motherland
  • Amir ElSaffar and Two Rivers
  • John Escreet Project
  • Ellery Eskelin and Different But the Same
  • Joel Harrison Group
  • John Hollenbeck and The Claudia Quintet, Suite Lorraine
  • Jason Kao Hwang and Edge
  • Rudresh Mahanthappa Quartet, Gamak
  • Ole Mathisen and F.F.E.A.R., Mirage
  • Josh Moshier and Moshier/Lebrun Collective
  • Mario Pavone and Orange Double Tenor Ensemble
  • Adam Rudolph’s Moving Pictures, Yeyi: A Wordless Psalm of Protypical Vibrations

Founded in 1977 to serve the growing chamber music community, Chamber Music America presents New Jazz Works with the assistance of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. The CMA program assists professional U.S. jazz ensembles in the development of new works, the funding of related activities, and the building of career-related business skills. (—culled from the press release)

You might also enjoy

NewMusicBox provides a space for those engaged with new music to communicate their experiences and ideas in their own words. Articles and commentary posted here reflect the viewpoints of their individual authors; their appearance on NewMusicBox does not imply endorsement by New Music USA.