CMA Awards $145K in Grants to Composer-Led Jazz Ensembles

Chamber Music America has awarded twelve new jazz commissions through its New Works: Creation and Presentation Program for composers and their ensembles. The program is part of CMA’s service to the jazz community and is made possible with funding from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. An independent panel of jazz composers and performers selected this year’s recipients from a group of 164 applicants. The following composers and their ensembles will receive awards of up to $15,000: Peter Apfelbaum, Roland Barber, James Carney, Rebecca Cline, Jim Gailloreto, Geoffrey Keezer, Steve Lehman, Miles Okazaki, Bob Rodriguez, Adam Rudolph, Brad Shepik, and Doug Wamble. Details on the composers’ ensembles and brief descriptions of the proposed works are available here.