2010 Jazz Journalists Association Awards Announced

The 2010 Jazz Journalists Association Awards were announced on June 14 in a gala at the City Winery in New York City. The awards, which are presented in 41 categories, were nominated by 60 professional Jazz Journalists Association (JJA) members.

Among the 2010 award-winners were: Vijay Iyer, Musician of the Year; Maria Schneider, Composer of the Year (an award she has now received six times); James Moody, Lifetime Achievement in Jazz; and Darcy James Argue, Up and Coming Artist of the Year. Argue’s group Secret Society was also awarded Large Ensemble of the Year. Record of the Year was awarded to Joe Lovano’s album Folk Art on Blue Note Records. And PI Recordings received the Record Label of the Year accolade.

For a complete listing of the 2010 award winners, visit the the JJA awards’ website.