10 Composers Among the 181 Guggenheim Fellows for 2012

10 Composers Among the 181 Guggenheim Fellows for 2012

Top row (left to right): Mincek, Previte, Hagen, Hodge, Soper;
Bottom row (left to right): Makan, Fang, Cipullo, Fung, Ye

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced its 2012 fellows in the United States and Canada. A total of 181 fellowships have been awarded to scholars, artists, and scientists chosen from a group of almost 3,000 applicants for this 88th annual competition. The ten composers chosen this year are: Tom Cipullo, Fang Man, Vivian Fung, Daron Hagen, Huck Hodge, Keeril Makan, Alex Mincek, Bobby Previte, Kate Soper, and Xiaogang Ye. A 2012 fellowship has also been awarded to musicologist Carol J. Oja, whose upcoming book Bernstein Meets Broadway: Collaborative Art, Race, and Progressive Politics in a Time of War is forthcoming from Oxford University Press.

A complete list of the 2012 fellows, with biographical links, is posted on the Guggenheim Foundation’s website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Conversation and respectful debate is vital to the NewMusicBox community. However, please remember to keep comments constructive and on-topic. Avoid personal attacks and defamatory language. We reserve the right to remove any comment that the community reports as abusive or that the staff determines is inappropriate.